Jean-François FOURCADIER

Montpellier  (France)

ham projects

write to me !  
© 2000-2004- J.F. Fourcadier
welcome page
high speed data television antennas microwaves repeaters miscellaneous


The express-pizza antenna

pizza_i.jpg (3129 octets)

version française


It's possible to build a directional antenna for the 1.2 GHz band, in 15 minutes. Moreover, with olives on your pizza, the cost is almost nil.


Construction :

- The next time you go shopping, stop by the pizza shop, that is on the street corner. Ask them for an empty 5 liter can. They will be happy to empty their trash can by offering you more. Decline their generosity. If there is no pizza parlor nearby, do not despair; you should be able to get one from another nearby restaurant or local soup kitchen.

- When you get home, carefully wash the can with soap and hot water (especially if it contained tomato sauce). The inside diameter of 5 l cans appears standardized and is about 152 mm ( 6" ). Their overall height is 244 mm.
You are now the happy owner of a circular waveguide, sealed on one end, with a cutoff wavelength for mode TE11 of 259 mm (the pizza store undoubtedly does not know what they gave you!).


- Drill a 10 mm hole, exactly 87 mm from the bottom edge of the can, to allow the mounting of an N connector.

                        click to enlarge            

(click on the picture to increase its size)

- Solder a 50 mm long piece of 2.5 mm2 ( #14 or better #13 AWG) solid wire to the center pin of the N connector. For the express-pizza antenna don't use other type of wire (the diameter is significant). Install the N connector by means of 4 screws, with the nuts on the outside, to limit the protusion inside the guide.

click to enlarge       click to enlarge

- Now, adjust the antenna for minimum SWR at 1260 MHz, by trimming the monopole a little at a time using cutting pliers. The minimum of SWR corresponds to a monopole length of approximately 47 mm. This adjustment must be done while directing the antenna towards an open space, otherwise the SWR measurement may not be accurate.

- Any convenient mounting method may be used. The unit may be made weather-resistant by sealing it inside a high-quality plastic trash bag.

click to enlarge                    click to enlarge


Here's the results (transmitter power 20W, distance 60 km, no amplifier in the antenna cable):

click to enlarge


Uses :

The express-pizza antenna  can be used alone, or be used as illuminator of a dish. It can also have directors added to make it more directing (cigar antenna).


Performance of the express-pizza antenna :

nominal impedance: 50 ohms

SWR in the 1240 - 1300 MHz band  < 1.4

gain: approximately 4 dBd (or 6 dBi)   (in the course of measurement)

directivity in the E and H planes: approximately 80° with - 3dB   (in the course of measurement)


Technical comment :

The cut-off frequency for a circular waveguide with a diameter 152 mm for mode TE11 is 1156 MHz. This cut-off frequency is very close to the beginning of the amateur band which is 1240 MHz. The wavelength in the guide is very large: 700 mm for 1240 MHz and 500 mm for 1300 MHz. Such a variation does not make it possible to obtain an SWR better 1.4 across the whole band. Many tests were carried out while modifying length, diameter, position of the monopole. The given dimensions are those which are best compromise and the results are satisfactory for a ham use.

A guide with a 170 mm diameter would make it possible to have an SWR < 1.2 across the band, but it would no longer be the express-pizza antenna.....

Good luck,

translation with the friendly help of Matt Mendenhall, KE6ALM


B5+ et 73 de Jean-François Fourcadier, F4DAY

back to the welcome page

As you can guess, english is not my mother-tongue. If you are living in UK or in the USA or in another english language country, you can help me to improve the quality of my website. Just send me an email with the mistakes you have detected (the biggest first ! ). Even one or two corrected sentences will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help !

© 2000-2004  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY

Jean-François FOURCADIER
F4DAY

Montpellier  (France)

projets radioamateurs

écrivez moi !  
© 2000-2016- J.F. Fourcadier
page d'accueil
haut débit télévision antennes hyperfréquences relais divers

 


L'antenne express-pizza

pizza_i.jpg (3129 octets)

 

Construire une antenne directive pour la bande 1,2 GHz, en 15 minutes, chronomètre en main, c'est possible. De plus, olive sur la pizza, le prix de revient est presque nul.

Explications :

- la prochaine fois que vous allez faire vos courses, arrêtez vous chez le marchand de pizzas, celui qui est au coin de votre rue. Demandez au pizzaïolo une boîte de conserve 5/1 vide. Il sait ce que c'est, il sera ravi de vider sa poubelle et vous proposera même plusieurs boîtes. Restreignez sa générosité. S'il n'y a pas de marchand de pizza près de chez vous, ne désespérez pas. N'importe quelle collectivité ou restaurant d'entreprise jette des dizaines de ces boîtes chaque jour.

- Arrivé chez vous, lavez soigneusement l'objet avec de l'eau chaude et du liquide vaisselle (surtout si la boîte contenait de la sauce tomate). Le diamètre intérieur des boîtes 5/1 paraît normalisé et est de 152 mm. Leur hauteur hors-tout est de 244 mm.
Vous êtes maintenant l'heureux propriétaire d'un guide d'onde circulaire, obturé en extrémité, dont la longueur d'onde de coupure pour le mode TE11 est de 259 mm (le marchand de pizzas ne sait sans doute pas ce qu'il vous a
donné !).

- percer un trou de diamètre 10 mm, à exactement 87 mm du fond (mesuré à partir de l'arrête extérieure de la boîte) pour permettre la fixation d'une fiche N.

perc_i.jpg (3094 octets)       (cliquez sur l'image pour agrandir)

- au centre de la fiche N, souder à l'étain un monopôle, fait d'un fil de cuivre rigide de 2,5 mm2, de longueur 50 mm. Le fil de 2,5 mm2 est celui utilisé par les électriciens pour le câblage des prises de courant. Pour l'antenne express-pizza ne pas utiliser d'autre type de fil (le diamètre est important). Fixer la fiche N au moyen de 4 vis (écrous à l'extérieur, pour limiter les protubérances à l'intérieur du guide).

monop_i.jpg (3450 octets)       inter_i.jpg (2128 octets)

- il suffit maintenant de régler l'antenne au minimum de ROS à 1260 MHz, en réduisant la longueur du monopôle à l'aide d'une pince coupante. Il faut aller très doucement. Le minimum de ROS correspond à une longueur du monopôle d'environ 47 mm. Le réglage doit se faire en dirigeant l'antenne vers un espace libre, sinon la mesure du ROS est perturbée.

- pour la fixation, n'importe quelle équerre fera l'affaire. Un sac poubelle assure une étanchéité parfaite de l'ensemble au ruissellement (choisir une marque de sacs bien solides).

equer_i.jpg (2775 octets)                    situat_i.jpg (2039 octets)

 

et voici le résultat (émetteur 20 W, distance 60 km, pas d'amplificateur d'antenne):

atv_i.jpg (2035 octets)

 

Utilisations:

L'antenne express-pizza peut être utilisée seule, ou servir d'illuminateur de parabole. Elle peut également recevoir des disques à son extrémité pour la rendre plus directive (antenne cigare).

Pour un maximum d'efficacité, on peut également y adjoindre un préamplificateur très simple à réaliser. Voir l'article: Une antenne active pour la bande 1200 MHz.

 

Performances de l'antenne express-pizza:

impédance nominale : 50 ohms

ROS dans la bande 1240 - 1300 MHz  < 1,4

gain : environ 4 dBd (ou 6 dBi)  (en cours de mesure)

directivité dans les plans E et H : environ 80° à - 3dB  (en cours de mesure)

 

Commentaire technique:

La fréquence de coupure pour un guide d'onde circulaire de diamètre 152 mm et le premier mode de transmission qui est le TE11, est 1156 MHz. Cette fréquence de coupure est très proche du début de la bande amateur 1240 MHz. De ce fait, la longueur d'onde dans le guide est très grande: 700 mm pour 1240 MHz et 500 mm pour 1300 MHz. Une telle variation ne permet pas d'obtenir une caractéristique d'adaptation meilleure que ROS < 1,4 dans la bande. De nombreux essais ont été réalisés en modifiant, longueur et diamètre du monopôle, position de celui-ci. Les cotes fournies sont celles qui fournissent le meilleur compromis et les résultats sont tout à fait satisfaisants pour un usage amateur.

Un guide de diamètre 170 mm permettrait d'atteindre un ROS < 1,2 dans toute la bande. Mais ce ne serait plus l'antenne express-pizza ......

Bonne réalisation,

 

 

 

 

73 de Jean-François FOURCADIER, F4DAY

 

 

retour à la page d'accueil du site

 

 

 

© 2000-2016  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY