Jean-François FOURCADIER

Montpellier  (France)

ham projects

write to me !  
© 2000-2004- J.F. Fourcadier
welcome page
high speed data television antennas microwaves repeaters miscellaneous

experimental 2 Mbit/s modem (receiving part)


The present article follows the set of articles "High speed data signaling project (2 Mbit/s)", on this website. We describe here the receiving section of the modem.

The modem is a device that one plugs on the rear connector of any simple and inexpensive satellite receiver used as a 23 cm receiver, and that provides a NRZ signal at a 2 Mbit/s rate, with its clock. Besides this modem provides a signal representing the bit error rate.

An interface with the outside world (USB port?) will be implemented subsequently.

Modem structure


After the Nyquist filter and a video amplification, a fast comparator distinguishes the "0" and the "1" of the biphase (Manchester) signal received.
The recovery of the rhythm is made by a full wave rectification of the received signal - what makes appear a stripe at twice the clock frequency-, while amplifying the signal in a selective amplifier set up on 4096 kHz, then injecting this signal in a phase locked loop to get the recovered clock.
Finally a logical processing of the biphase signal converts it in a NRZ signal, and detects the biphase violations to detect possible transmission errors.

Schematic diagrams

Analogue section:

click to enlarge

(click to enlarge)

The first BC546B transistor operates in a common collector scheme. It isolates the Nyquist filter and guarantees the impedance on the access. The role and the behavior of the Nyquist filter have already been described. The three following transistors constitute a video amplifier assigned to rise the signal to the appropriate level for the LM360 fast comparator and the full wave rectifier. This last is composed of a transistor in a common emitter scheme, with a gain of 2. It is polarized in order to amplify and to invert only the positive half wave. A summing with the incidental signal is achieved in a potentiometer that permits to adjust the symmetry of the signal. The rectified signal, that includes a strong component of 4096 kHz, is amplified in a selective amplifier builded around a BF240 transistor and a LC circuit. A capacitive tap gives the right level for the PLL circuit 74HC4046. Notice the C-R cell constituted with a 15 pF capacitor and a 2.7 kohms resistance to get a phase advance of 45 degrees of the 4096 kHz signal before feeding the PLL circuit. This cell is necessary to get a correct sampling, at the precise instant of the maximum of opening of the eye. With the given values, the measured capture range is plus and minus 100 kHz around the central frequency, what is sufficient to assure an efficient locking in any case, and this in spite of the possible instabilities of the RC drived VCO frequency.

Logical section:

click to enlarge

This section achieves the biphase to NRZ conversion and return a signal representing the bit error rate of the transmission.
The D flip-flop U3A controled by the 4096 kHz clock from the analogue section regenerates the biphase signal. A division by two of this 4096 kHz clock frequency by the U4A flip-flop recovers the original 2048 kHz clock. Finally, the U4B circuits, U9A, U7D,U6A, U9B and U3B transform the biphase signal in NRZ signal: Thanks to the U4B shift register, the exclusive OR U9A provides a logical one for every transition of the biphase signal, which occurs inevitably in the middle of the transmitted bit. The periodic apparition of this logical level assures the suitable phase of the frequency divider by two, U6A. It is then sufficient to multiply this clock signal with the incidental signal, with the help of the exclusive OR U9B, to get the original NRZ binary signal transmitted. U3B regenerates then the result for a perfect shape.
The transmission errors detection lays on a scheme, very known of the specialists and very simple of implementation. The biphase (Manchester) signals have the property to have always a transition in the middle of the transmitted binary symbol. All deviation to this absolute rule of construction is called a "biphase code violation". Of course, there is no biphase code violation on the transmitting side. All biphase code violation on the receiving side is therefore the evidence of a transmission error. The processing is simple. The received biphase signal passes through a 3 cells shift register, constituted with the three D flip-flop U4B, U5A and U5B. Every succession of three zeros or three ones reveals an absence of transition and therefore a biphase code violation. It's the role of the three inputs NAND gates U8A and U8B to detect them. One can get thus an appreciation of the quality of the transmitted signal quality with a simple counter connected at the output of U7B.

NB: It would be subsequently interesting to give a logarithmic shape to the error rate and to arrange on the modem a bargraph, monitoring the transmission quality......


The used components are quite banal and extensively available in detail shops. Being about a prototype, no printed circuit has been achieved for the time. A Veroboard acts as support. The circuit is compact, some place remains in the box to add subsequently the interface with the outside world. A particular attention will be brought to the decouplings and the power supplies. The circuit uses "nervous" components and the usual rules for RF circuits must be observed (many ceramic and multilayer capacitors are not visible on the photos because they are soldered directly on the components pins, on the back side of the card!).

click to enlarge
click to enlarge

(click to enlarge)

Set up

One set up first the 2.2 kohms potentiometer to get a signal which the frequency is precisely 4096 kHz on the pin 4 of the PLL circuit 74HC4046.
A "video" signal, in fact a 2,048 Mbit/s binary signal, biphase coded, with an amplitude of 1 V peak to peak, is then injected to the input of the modem. It is generated by our previously described pseudo-random generator.

click to enlarge

The 1 kohms level potentiometer is adjusted to get 1.5 V peak to peak at point A. The symmetry and equalization are adjusted to get a symmetrical signal on the base of the BF240 transistor. The 18 µH inductance is adjusted for a maximum of sinusoïdal signal @ 4096 kHz on the pin 14 of the PLL circuit 74HC4046. The phase locked loop locks itself without problem and assure a very low phase jitter of the recovered clock.

One should verify that the sampling is done for the maximum of the eye opening. It corresponds to a positive going transition of the clock signal situated precisely in the middle of the available symbol on the output of the LM360 comparator. If needed one may modify VERY slightly the set up of the symmetry and/or the core of the tuning circuit to get this result. Attention, for the measurement, the two oscilloscope probes should be identical and should have the same cable length !


click to enlarge

(on top the 4096 kHz clock signal, below the signal provided by the comparator,
for a correct set-up)


Tests on the air

After the set up described higher, the scheme is perfect for local tests. The ATV repeater F5ZGN of the mount Aigoual (Gard-France) that is situated 50 km away from my station is used. My previously described "twist" ATV transmitter - frequency 2320 MHz, output power 600 mW, 80 cm dish - is FM modulated by the biphase signal provided by the pseudo-random generator. This signal is received by the repeater, and then broadcasted on 1255 MHz FM in the whole region, as if it was amateur television.

After two path of more than 50 km, two transmitters and two receivers crossed, the signal comes back to its starting point, with some impairements, mainly linearity and amplitude-frequency response problems. The available signal on the rear connector of the satellite receiver has the following shape:

click to enlarge

This type of behavior of our equipments is not very good either for amateur television and is relatively easy to solve. It will be necessary that we worked on. But there is not an emergency, in the case of our digital transmission the eye remained very well open, the modulation is robust, the fast comparator sorts out the zeros and the ones, and the modem PLL follows vigorously the received signal!

On the left the NRZ code received, on the right the counter connected on the error detection output stays on zero:

click to enlarge
click to enlarge

And on a traditional ATV receiver, wthat can we see during this digital transmission at a 2 Mbit/s rate ? A kind of granular noise, unable to synchronize the television set. But it is not because one doesn't see a picture, that there is not an big quantity of information that is broadcasted!

click to enlarge


What next ?

One can say today that the concept is validated. It is characterized by its simple implementation, its efficiency on the air, and by the use of reliable and well known equipments of amateur television.

The tasks that are to achieve are the following:

- to improve the modem, for example by using differential biphase code to avoid to have to specify the direction of the modulation,
- to achieve printed circuits,
- to construct a true hardware and software interface for PC, the ideal being to be able to introduce and to extract the data by an USB port,
- finally, to work on the regeneration of the digital signals in the repeaters, in order to avoid the cumulative effects of the noise. It is one of the big advantages of the digital transmission that to be able to recreate in every repeater quasi-perfect signals from noisy or impaired signals.

It could be funny to experiment the whole scheme on more of two ATV path, while transiting for example by other ATV repeaters of the neighbourhood, and using 10 GHz ATV links of the region. Ranges of more than 200 km is certainly possible, and it is quickly controllable. Could one then imagine transmission tests at a 2 Mbit/s rate between Montpellier, Nîmes and Marseille (french cities in the South of France), for simple technical tests in a first time, then more seriously to exchange voice, pictures, files or MPEG video?

to be continued, stay tuned......

B5+ et 73 de Jean-François Fourcadier, F4DAY

back to the welcome page

As you can guess, english is not my mother-tongue. If you are living in UK or in the USA or in another english language country, you can help me to improve the quality of my website. Just send me an email with the mistakes you have detected (the biggest first ! ). Even one or two corrected sentences will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help !

© 2000-2004  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY

Jean-François FOURCADIER
F4DAY

Montpellier  (France)

projets radioamateurs

écrivez moi !  
© 2000-2004- J.F. Fourcadier
page d'accueil
haut débit télévision antennes hyperfréquences relais divers

modem expérimental 2 Mbit/s (partie réception)

 

Le présent article fait suite à l'ensemble d'articles "projet de transmission de données à haut débit" disponible sur ce site. Nous décrivons ici la partie réception des données.

Le modem est un dispositif que l'on branche sur la prise Péritel d'un simple démodulateur satellite bon marché, et qui fournit en retour un signal NRZ à 2 Mbit/s, accompagé de son horloge. De plus ce modem fournit au fil de l'eau un signal représentatif du nombre d'erreurs de transmission.

Une interface avec le monde extérieur (port USB ?) sera implantée ultérieurement.

Structure du modem

 

Après le filtre de Nyquist réception et une amplification vidéo, un simple comparateur rapide distingue les "0" et les "1" du signal biphase reçu.
La récupération du rythme se fait en redressant les deux alternances du signal reçu -ce qui fait apparaître une raie à deux fois la fréquence d'horloge-, en amplifiant le signal dans un amplificateur sélectif réglé sur 4096 kHz, puis en injectant ce dernier signal dans une boucle à verrouillage de phase pour obtenir l'horloge reconstituée.
Enfin une logique transforme le signal biphase en signal NRZ, et met en évidence les violations à la régle de construction du code biphase pour détecter d'éventuelles erreurs de transmission.

Schémas

La partie analogique:

cliquer pour agrandir

(cliquer pour agrandir)

Le premier transistor BC546B monté en collecteur commun isole le filtre de Nyquist et garantit l'impédance sur l'accès. Le rôle et le comportement du filtre de Nyquist ont déjà été décrits. Les trois transistors suivants constituent un amplificateur vidéo chargé d'amener le signal au niveau convenable pour attaquer le comparateur rapide LM360 et le redresseur double alternance. Ce dernier est composé d'un transistor monté en émetteur commun de gain 2 et polarisé de manière à n'amplifier et inverser que l'alternance positive. Une sommation avec le signal incident est réalisée dans un potentiomètre qui permet d'ajuster la symétrie du signal. Le signal redressé, qui comporte une forte composante à 4096 kHz, attaque un amplificateur sélectif équipé d'un transistor BF240 et d'un circuit LC. Une prise capacitive permet d'obtenir un niveau d'attaque convenable du circuit intégré PLL 74HC4046. A noter la cellule CR constituée d'un condensateur de 15 pF et d'une résistance de 2,7 kohms qui procure une avance de phase de 45° au signal à 4096 kHz avant d'attaquer le circuit PLL. Cette cellule est indispensable pour obtenir un échantillonnage correct, à l'instant précis du maximum d'ouverture de l'oeil. Avec les valeurs données, la plage de capture mesurée est de plus et moins 100 kHz autour de la fréquence centrale, ce qui est suffisant pour assurer dans tous les cas un verrouillage efficace, et ce malgré les instabilités possibles de la fréquence propre du VCO.

La partie logique:

cliquer pour agrandir

Elle assure la conversion biphase NRZ et met en évidence les erreurs de transmission.
La bascule D U3A contrôlé par l'horloge à 4096 kHz régénère le signal biphase. Une division par deux de la fréquence d'horloge à 4096 kHz par la bascule U4A permet de retrouver l'horloge à 2048 kHz d'origine. Enfin, les circuits U4B, U9A, U7D,U6A, U9B et U3B transforment le signal biphase en signal NRZ. Le fonctionnement est le suivant: Grâce au registre à décalage U4B, le OU exclusif U9A fournit un un logique à chaque transition du signal biphase, laquelle se produit obligatoirement au milieu du bit transmis. L'apparition périodique de ce niveau logique assure une mise à la phase correcte du diviseur de fréquence par deux, U6A. Il suffit ensuite d'effectuer un produit à l'aide du OU exclusif U9B pour trouver le signal NRZ binaire transmis. U3B régénère alors le signal pour une forme parfaite.
La détection d'erreurs de transmission fait appel à un dispositif bien connu des spécialistes et très simple de mise en oeuvre. Les signaux codés en biphase ont la propriété d'avoir toujours une transition au milieu du symbole binaire transmis. Toute entorse à cette régle absolue de construction s'appelle une "violation de code biphase". Il n'y a bien sûr pas de violation de code biphase à l'émission. Toute violation de code biphase à la réception témoigne donc d'une erreur de transmission. Leur mise en évidence est simple. A la réception, le signal biphase transite dans un registre à décalage constitué des trois bascules D U4B, U5A et U5B. Toute succession de trois zéros ou de trois uns est révélatrice d'une absence de transition et donc d'une violation de code biphase. C'est le rôle des portes NAND à trois entrées U8A et U8B de les détecter. On peut ainsi obtenir très facilement une appréciation de la qualité du signal transmis en connectant un compteur à la sortie de U7B.
NB: Il serait ultérieurement intéressant de donner une allure logarithmique au rythme des erreurs et disposer sur le modem un bargraph témoin de la qualité de transmission......

Réalisation

Les composants utilisés sont tout à fait banals et largement disponibles dans le commerce de détail. S'agissant d'un prototype, aucun circuit imprimé n'a été réalisé pour l'instant. Une "plaque à trous" sert de support. L'ensemble est compact, de la place reste dans le coffret pour loger ultérieurement l'interface avec le monde extérieur. Une attention particulière sera apportée aux découplages et aux alimentations. Le montage fait appel à des composants "nerveux" et les règles habituelles des circuits RF seront observées (de nombreux condensateurs céramiques et multicouches ne sont pas visibles sur les photos car ils sont soudés directement sur les pattes des CI au verso de la carte !).

cliquer pour agrandir
cliquer pour agrandir

(cliquer pour agrandir)

 

Réglages

On régle tout d'abord le potentiomètre de 2,2 kohms pour obtenir un signal de fréquence égale exactement à 4096 kHz sur la broche 4 du circuit 74HC4046.
Un signal "vidéo", en fait un signal binaire à 2,048 Mbit/s codé biphase et d'amplitude 1 V crête à crête, est ensuite injecté à l'entrée du modem. Il est issu du générateur pseudo-aléatoire précédemment décrit.

cliquer pour agrandir

Le potentiomètre de 1 kohm de réglage de niveau est réglé pour obtenir 1,5 V crête à crête au point A. Les réglages de symétrie et d'égalisation sont ajustés pour obtenir un signal redressé bien symétrique sur la base du transistor BF240. L'inductance de 18 µH est réglée pour un maximum de signal sinusoïdal à 4096 kHz sur la broche 14 du circuit 74HC4046. La boucle de verrouillage de phase se verrouille ainsi sans problème et assure une gigue de phase très faible à l'horloge reconstituée.

On vérifiera que l'échantillonnage est bien effectué au maximum d'ouverture de l'oeil. Ceci correspond bien entendu à un front montant du signal d'horloge situé exactement au milieu du symbole disponible en sortie du comparateur LM360. Au besoin on pourra retoucher TRES légèrement le réglage d'égalisation et/ou le noyau du circuit oscillant pour obtenir ce résultat. Attention, lors du réglage les deux sondes de l'oscilloscope devront être identiques et avoir en particulier la même longueur de câble !

cliquer pour agrandir

(en haut le signal d'horloge à 4096 kHz, en bas le signal issu du comparateur, pour un réglage correct)

Essais sur l'air

Après les réglages décrits plus haut, le fonctionnement en local est parfait. Le relais ATV F5ZGN du mont Aigoual (Gard) qui est situé à 50 km de ma station est alors mis à contribution (un grand merci au passage aux OM nîmois F5AD, F1FCO et F6BES).
Mon émetteur ATV "twist" - fréquence 2320 MHz, puissance 600 mW, antenne parabolique de 80 cm de diamètre - est modulé en FM par le signal biphase issu du générateur pseudo-aléatoire. Ce signal est reçu par le relais, puis retransmis sur 1255 MHz dans toute la région, comme si c'était de la télévision d'amateur.

Après deux bonds de 50 km, deux émetteurs et deux récepteurs traversés, le signal revient passablement déformé à son point de départ, avec quelques problèmes de linéarité et de réponse amplitude-fréquence. Le signal disponible sur la prise Péritel du récepteur satellite a la forme suivante:

cliquer pour agrandir

Ce type de comportement de nos installations n'est pas très bon non plus pour de la télévision et est relativement facile à corriger. Il faudra que nous y travaillions. Mais il n'y a pas d'urgence, dans le cas de notre transmission numérique l'oeil reste encore bien ouvert, la modulation est robuste, le comparateur rapide trie les zéros et les uns, et la PLL du modem s'accroche vigoureusement sur le signal reçu !

A gauche le code NRZ reçu, à droite le compteur connecté sur la sortie détection d'erreurs reste figé sur zéro:

cliquer pour agrandir
cliquer pour agrandir

 

Et sur un téléviseur ATV classique, que voit-on pendant cette transmission numérique à 2 Mbit/s ? Une sorte de bruit granuleux, incapable de synchroniser le téléviseur. Mais ce n'est pas parceque l'on ne voit pas d'image, qu'il n'y a pas une quantité importante d'information qui est diffusée !

cliquer pour agrandir

 

Et ensuite ?

On peut dire aujourd'hui que le concept est validé. Il se caractérise par sa simplicité de mise en oeuvre, son efficacité sur l'air, et par le recours à des matériels de télévision d'amateur fiables dont la technologie est bien connue.

Les tâches qui sont à réaliser sont les suivantes :

- améliorer encore la partie modem, en passant peut être en code biphase différentiel pour éviter d'avoir à spécifier le sens de la modulation,
-
réaliser des circuits imprimés,
- construire une véritable petite interface matérielle et logicielle pour PC, l'idéal étant de pouvoir introduire et extraire les données par un port USB
,
- enfin, travailler sur la régénération des signaux numériques dans les relais, de manière à éviter les effets cumulatifs du bruit. C'est un des gros avantages de la transmission numérique que de pouvoir recréer dans chaque relais des signaux quasi-parfaits à partir de signaux déformés ou bruités.

Il pourrait être amusant d'expérimenter l'ensemble sur plus de deux bonds ATV, en transitant par exemple par le relais ATV du Signal de Lure (Alpes de Haute Provence), et en empruntant les faisceaux ATV 10 GHz de la région. Des portées de plus de 200 km sont certainement possibles, et cela est vérifiable rapidement. On pourrait alors imaginer des essais de transmission à 2 Mbit/s entre Montpellier, Nîmes et Marseille, pour de simples essais techniques dans un premier temps, puis ensuite plus sérieusement pour échanger de la voix, des images fixes, des fichiers ou de la vidéo compressée ?

à suivre .....

 

B5+ et 73 de Jean-François Fourcadier, F4DAY

retour à la page d'accueil du site

 

© 2000-2004  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY