Jean-François FOURCADIER

Montpellier  (France)

ham projects

write to me !  
© 2000-2004- J.F. Fourcadier
welcome page
high speed data television antennas microwaves repeaters miscellaneous

A two tone generator to check the linearity
of the components of a video transmission chain

cliquer pour agrandir

As the amplitude-frequency response and the group delay distortion, the linearity is an important characteristic of a video transmission chain. A bad amplifier linearity, or a lack of linearity in AM or FM modulators, discriminators,... is prejudicial to the quality of the pictures (unsaturated colors) and provoke bothersome shortcomings when one tries to transmit two audio sub-carriers. The method of assessment of the linearity that is proposed here requires the use of a small two tones tones generator easy to build and a spectrum analyzer or a low cost discarded selective voltmeter.

The proposed method

The method proposed here is known for a long time of the transmission specialists. It is used to qualify the SSB transmitters and was, no long ago, used to measure the performances of analog microwave links. It consists in injecting, in the chain or in the device to test, two sinusoidal signals with a relatively important level, and to observe the spectrum of the output signal. So, if all was OK, one would recover in the output the two original sinusoidal signals, and nothing else..... However such an input signal is especially aggressive and a bad linearity, even very low, will create detectable intermodulation products. Indeed, when a device is not perfectly linear, it also behaves as a mixer, and signals at different frequencies are created.

Let's illustrate the subject by an example:
To test the linearity of a video amplifier, let's inject simultaneously on its input two sinusoidal signals at the following frequencies: F1 = 4000 kHz and F2 = 3686 kHz.

If the amplifier was perfect, we should recover on its output these two amplified signals and nothing else. The perfectly linear amplifiers do not exist, so we will recover on its output, in addition to the useful signals, intermodulation (or mixer) products. One usually distinguishes:

- second order intermodulation products, at the frequencies:

F1 - F2, either 4000 - 3686 = 314 kHz, in this example,
F1 + F2, either 4000 + 3686 = 7686 kHz

- third order intermodulation products, at the frequencies:

2*F1 - F2, either 4314 kHz
2*F1 + F2, either 11686 kHz
2*F2 - F1, either 3372 kHz
2*F2 + F1, either: 11372 kHz

The most bothersome products will be those that fall in the video band, at the frequencies:
F1 - F2, 2*F1 - F2 and 2*F2 - F1.

The linearity of the amplifier will be simply evaluated by measuring the relative levels of the 2nd and 3rd order intermodulation products, respectively to the useful signals, for a given ouput level.

Realization of the two tone generator

Schematic diagram:

click to enlarge

(click to enlarge)

The proposed two tones generator is constituted of two channels: a channel at 4000 kHz and an other channel at 3686 kHz.

A cheap 4000 kHz computer crystal is inserted in an oscillator made with a BC546B transistor. The produced signal is amplified with a second BC546B transistor. A band filter, composed of two coupled circuits with a slight under-critical coupling, improves the spectral purity of the signal. Finally a 2N2219A transistor in common collector scheme insures a very low output impedance that guaranties a good isolation between the two channels. The second channel is identical, but with a 3686 kHz crystal.
The two channels are coupled by two 150 ohms resistances that are seen in parallel by the output. The output impedance of the installation is thus 75 ohms, purely resistive. Two 4.7 kohms adjustable resistances permit an adjustment and a balance of the levels for the two channels.



cliquer pour agrandir
cliquer pour agrandir


Download the printed circuit in the Ares format (zipped)

The coils are all identical. They present an inductance of 7.8 µH +/- 30% adjustable thanks to an adjustable slug. They are achieved on discarded slug tuned forms (Coilcraft).
NB: IF transformers from 10.7 MHz IF should be suitable.
The form includes 4 small pulleys. A total of 4 x 8 = 32 turns of enameled wires are wounded to get a resonance frequency of 3.8 MHz with a 220 pF capacitor.

Set up:

The operating is immediate. One observes the output signal on the the spectrum analyzer or on the selective voltmeter, one adjusts the slugs to the maximum of signal on the two frequencies 4000 kHz and 3686 kHz.

One then adjusts the adjustable resistances to get on the oscilloscope a 1200 mV pp signal, and one check again that the levels on the two channels are identical.

the output signal on an oscilloscope:

cliquer pour agrandir

and on a spectrum analyzer:

cliquer pour agrandir

vertical set up: 10 dB / division, horizontal: 500 kHz / division
the peak on the extreme left marks the zero frequency
On the right, one can perfectly distinguish the two peaks at 3686 kHz and 4000 kHz

When we adjust the output level to 1200 mV pp, we get:

IM2 <- 60 dBc
IM3 <- 60 dBc
harmonic <- 30 dBc

We will see that this performance level is more than sufficient to qualify our small amateur equipments.


- test of a video amplifier (badly designed !)

cliquer pour agrandir

While adjusting its gain to the minimum, we get in output a more or less acceptable signal:

cliquer pour agrandir

One get a 2nd order intermodulation level at 314 kHz, - 45 dB under the carriers and 3rd order intermodulation level at 3372 kHz and 4314 kHz, - 47 dB under the carriers.

But when one set up its gain to the maximum, to get 1,7 V pp on a 75 ohms load, the result becomes fairly unacceptable:

cliquer pour agrandir

The acceptables thresholds in amateur television

The topic is difficult and controversal !

At the amateur level, the research of a good linearity must be probably seen more like an axis of improvement of the equipments that as an end in itself.

To give an order of size, the twist oscillator used daily at the station and that transmits pictures of rather fair quality, produces in local the following spectrum when it is feeded by the two tone generator:

cliquer pour agrandir


The 2nd order intermodulation level is at - 15 dBc and the 3rd order at - 25 dBc. The predominance of the 2nd order is presumably due to the parabolic shape of the voltage-frequency characteristic of this very simple VCO.

When one wishes to transmit two audio sub-carriers, the level of requirement increases. Some tests should be done to determine the acceptable threshholds.


With this little, easy to build, two tone generator, we have a tool able to better know the linearity of our video homebrewed equipments. It will permit to improve the quality of the amplifiers, but particularly of the modulators-VCO whose characteristic is often far from being satisfactory.

For the study of the linearity, the proposed method is more general than the one that consists in using a Vertical Insertion Test Signal (VITS) generator and analyzer (very rare equipment in the amateurs shacks). The method is simple and efficient. It will agree merely to be prudent in the analysis when the signals cross clamp devices.

Finally, the method opens the way to the design of matched correction devices (predistorsion networks). But there it is another business!

To follow.....

B5+ et 73 de Jean-François Fourcadier, F4DAY

back to the welcome page

As you can guess, english is not my mother-tongue. If you are living in UK or in the USA or in another english language country, you can help me to improve the quality of my website. Just send me an email with the mistakes you have detected (the biggest first ! ). Even one or two corrected sentences will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help !

© 2000-2004  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY

Jean-François FOURCADIER
F4DAY

Montpellier  (France)

projets radioamateurs

écrivez moi !  
© 2000-2016- J.F. Fourcadier
page d'accueil
haut débit télévision antennes hyperfréquences relais divers

 


Un générateur deux tons pour contrôler
la linéarité des constituants d'une chaîne de transmission vidéo

cliquer pour agrandir

Au même titre que la réponse amplitude-fréquence et que la distorsion de temps de propagation de groupe, la linéarité est un paramètre important des constituants d'une chaîne de transmission vidéo. Une mauvaise linéarité des amplificateurs, modulateurs AM ou FM, discriminateurs,... nuit à la qualité des images (couleurs désaturées, ) et provoque des défauts gênants lorsque l'on cherche à transmettre deux sous-porteuses audio. La méthode d'évaluation de la linéarité qui est proposée ici nécessite l'emploi d'un petit générateur deux tons facile à construire et d'un analyseur de spectre ou d'un voltmètre sélectif.

La méthode proposée

La méthode proposée ici est connue depuis longtemps des transmetteurs. Elle est utilisée pour qualifier les émetteurs BLU et était employée naguère pour mesurer les performances des faisceaux hertziens analogiques. Elle consiste à injecter, dans la chaîne ou dans le dispositif à tester, deux signaux sinusoïdaux avec un niveau relativement important, et à observer le spectre du signal de sortie. Si tout se passait bien, on retrouverait en sortie les deux signaux sinusoïdaux d'origine, et rien d'autre.....Or un tel signal est particulièrement agressif et une mauvaise linéarité, même minime, créera des produits d'intermodulation décelables. En effet, lorsqu'un dispositif n'est pas parfaitement linéaire, il se comporte aussi comme un mélangeur, et des signaux à des signaux à des fréquences différentes sont créés.

Illustrons le propos par un exemple:
Pour tester la linéarité d'un amplificateur vidéo, injectons simultanément sur son entrée deux signaux sinusoïdaux aux fréquences suivantes: F1 = 4000 kHz et F2 = 3686 kHz.

Si l'amplificateur était parfait, nous ne devrions retrouver sur sa sortie que ces deux signaux amplifiés et rien d'autre. L'amplificateurs parfaitement linéaire n'existant pas, nous retrouverons en sortie, en plus des signaux utiles, des produits d'intermodulation ou de mélange. On distingue habituellement:

- les produits d'intermodulation d'ordre 2, aux fréquences:

F1 - F2, soit 4000 - 3686 = 314 kHz, dans cet exemple
F1 + F2, soit 4000 + 3686 = 7686 kHz

- les produits d'intermodulation d'ordre 3, aux fréquences:

2*F1 - F2, soit 4314 kHz
2*F1 + F2, soit 11686 kHz
2*F2 - F1, soit 3372 kHz
2*F2 + F1, soit: 11372 kHz

Les produits les plus gênants seront ceux qui tomberont dans la bande vidéo, aux fréquences:
F1 - F2, 2*F1 - F2 et 2*F2 - F1.

La linéarité de l'amplificateur sera évaluée très simplement en mesurant les niveaux relatifs des produits d'intermodulation d'ordre 2 et d'ordre 3, par rapport aux signaux utiles, pour un niveau d'injection donné.

Réalisation du générateur deux tons

Le schéma:

cliquer pour agrandir

(cliquer pour agrandir)

Le générateur deux tons proposé est constitué de deux voies: une voie à 4000 kHz et une voie à 3686 kHz.

Un quartz à 4000 kHz est inséré dans un montage oscillateur équipé d'un transistor BC546B. Le signal produit est amplifié par un deuxième transistor BC546B. Un filtre de bande, composé de deux circuits couplés avec un couplage légèrement sous-critique, améliore la qualité spectrale du signal. Enfin un transistor 2N2219 monté en collecteur commun assure une très faible impédance de sortie qui contribue à une bonne isolation des deux voies. Les deux voies sont couplées par des résistances de 150 ohms qui sont vues en parallèle par la sortie. L'impédance de sortie du montage est ainsi de 75 ohms résistifs. Deux résistances ajustables de 4,7 kohms permettent d'ajuster les niveaux et d'équilibrer les deux voies.

La réalisation:

 

cliquer pour agrandir
cliquer pour agrandir

 

Téléchargez le circuit imprimé au format Ares (zippé)

Les bobinages sont tous identiques. Ils présentent une inductance de 7,8 µH ajustable de +/- 30% grâce à un noyau réglable. Ils sont réalisés sur des pots de récupération (marque inconnue). NB: Des pots de FI à 10,7 MHz devraient pouvoir convenir.
Le mandrin comporte 4 petites gorges. Au total 4 x 8 = 32 tours de fil émaillé sont bobinés pour obtenir une fréquence de résonance de 3,8 MHz avec une capacité de 220 pF.

Réglages

Le fonctionnement est immédiat. On observe le signal de sortie à l'analyseur de spectre ou au voltmètre sélectif, on règle les noyaux au maximum de signal sur les deux fréquences 4000 kHz et 3686 kHz.

On règle ensuite les résistances ajustables pour avoir à l'oscilloscope un signal de 1200 mV crête à crête, et on revérifie que les niveaux des deux voies sont identiques.

Le signal de sortie:

vu à l'oscilloscope:

cliquer pour agrandir

et à l'analyseur de spectre:

cliquer pour agrandir

réglage vertical: 10 dB / division, horizontal: 500 kHz / division
la raie à l'extrême gauche marque la fréquence zéro
On observe parfaitement à droite les deux raies à 3686 kHz et 4000 kHz

En réglant le niveau de sortie à 1200 mV crête à crête, nous obtenons:

IM2 < - 60 dBc
IM3 < - 60 dBc
harmoniques < - 30 dBc

Nous verrons que ce niveau de performance est plus que suffisant pour qualifier nos petits montages d'amateurs.

Utilisation

- test d'un amplificateur vidéo (mal conçu !)

cliquer pour agrandir

En réglant son gain au minimum, nous obtenons en sortie un signal à peu près acceptable:

cliquer pour agrandir

On observe une raie d''intermodulation d'ordre 2 à 314 kHz, à - 45 dB par rapport aux porteuses et les raies d'ordre 3 à 3372 kHz et 4314 kHz à - 47 dB.

Mais lorsqu'on régle son gain au maximum, pour obtenir 1,7 V crête à crête sur 75 ohms en sortie, le résultat devient franchement inacceptable:

cliquer pour agrandir

 

Les seuils acceptables en télévision d'amateur

Le sujet est difficile et sujet à controverse !

Au niveau amateur, la recherche d'une bonne linéarité doit sans doute être plus vu comme un axe d'amélioration des installations que comme une fin en soi.

Pour donner un ordre de grandeur, l'oscillateur twist utilisé quotidiennement à la station et qui transmet des images de qualité moyenne, produit en local le spectre suivant lorsqu'il est attaqué par le générateur deux tons:

cliquer pour agrandir

L'intermodulation d'ordre 2 est à - 15 dBc et celle d'ordre 3 à - 25 dBc. La prédominance de l'ordre 2 est vraisemblablement due à l'allure parabolique de la caractéristique tension-fréquence de ce VCO sommaire.

Lorsqu'on souhaite transmettre deux sous-porteuses audio, le niveau d'exigence augmente. Des essais devront être effectués pour déterminer les seuils acceptables.

Conclusion

Avec ce petit générateur deux tons facile à construire, nous détenons un outil qui permet de mieux connaître la linéarité de nos équipements vidéo. Il permettra d'améliorer la qualité des amplificateurs, mais surtout des ensembles modulateurs-VCO dont la caractéristique est souvent loin d'être satisfaisante.

Pour l'étude de la linéarité, la méthode proposée est plus générale que celle qui consiste à utiliser un générateur et un analyseur de lignes test (appareil bien rare chez les amateurs). Elle est simple et efficace. Il conviendra simplement d'être prudent dans l'analyse lorsque les signaux traversent des dispositifs de clamp.

Enfin, la méthode ouvre la voie à la mise au point de dispositifs de correction adaptés (réseaux de prédistorsion). Mais là c'est une autre affaire !
A suivre .....

 

 

 

73 de Jean-François FOURCADIER, F4DAY

 

 

retour à la page d'accueil du site

 

 

 

© 2000-2016  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY