Jean-François FOURCADIER

Montpellier  (France)

ham projects

write to me !  
© 2000-2004- J.F. Fourcadier
welcome page
high speed data television antennas microwaves repeaters miscellaneous

The ATV - FM pre-emphasis

version française


When one transmits a television signals using frequency modulation, it is necessary, before feeding the modulator itself, to carry out a small operation called pre-emphasis.

What is the pre-emphasis?

Pre-emphasis consists of changing the levels, in the radio channel, of the higher modulation frequencies relative to the lower frequencies. The exactly opposite operation - de-emphasis - must be carried out at the receiver. The pre-emphasis makes it possible to minimize the visible impairments when the received signal is noisy. The curve of pre-emphasis used in television was the subject many studies before standardization. Standardization is necessary so that the manufacturers of transmitters and receivers use equal but opposite curves, if the overall results of the transmission system is to be a flat frequency response.

How the pre-emphasis of the signal is carried out?

It is very simple. Recommendation CCIR 405-1 defines a quadripole filter inserted in the video signal path to modify the video before the frequency modulator. The filter is designed as a 75-ohm filter, meaning that the input and output must "see" an impedance of exactly 75-ohms. For the 625 lines TV standards, the quadripole filter looks like this:

préac.gif (4231 octets)

What is the response curve of the quadripole filter?

The question can appear academic since the answer is given in the description of the standard. However, it can be interesting to analyze this circuit to appreciate the consequences of a value change of some components. After all not everyone has a 9.54uH inductor in his junkbox, or 1695 pF capacitor. So what does happen if standard value components are used, for example; 1800 pF capacitor, 10 µH inductor, and a 18 ohm resistor?

Simulation can be easily carried out using available Spice software. There are many freeware or commercial versions available. For amateur use, download the freeware version of Spice Opus at : A small help document is available at : After about an hour of playing with the software, you will know enough to successfully model our quadripole filter. The netlist for the filter can be written as:

pre-emphasis CCIR 405-1
* to preac.cir file
* input node 1
* output node 4
* voltage resources
v1 1 0 cd. 0V ac 1 sin 0 1V 20megHz
* resistors
rin 1 2 75
r1 2 3 75
r2 3 4 75
r3 3 5 18.75
r4 2 4 300
ro 4 0 75
* capacitor
c1 2 4 1695pF
* inductance
l1 5 0 9.5uH

Running Spice Opus software revels the following response curve:

courbe.jpg (14910 octets)

The curve shows that the lower frequencies are attenuated by 14 dB, whereas the attenuation of the high frequencies is nil. Notice that the slope of the curve is mostly between 100 kHz and 3 MHz. As a fun exercise, you can now change the part values and compare the results when using standard components. Not to worry, the levels do not vary of more than 0.5 dB! You will also be able to observe the phase variation and group delay of each model of the filter.

Translation with the friendly help of Bob Bachus.


B5+ et 73 de Jean-François Fourcadier, F4DAY

back to the welcome page

As you can guess, english is not my mother-tongue. If you are living in UK or in the USA or in another english language country, you can help me to improve the quality of my website. Just send me an email with the mistakes you have detected (the biggest first ! ). Even one or two corrected sentences will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help !

© 2000-2004  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY

Jean-François FOURCADIER
F4DAY

Montpellier  (France)

projets radioamateurs

écrivez moi !  
© 2000-2016- J.F. Fourcadier
page d'accueil
haut débit télévision antennes hyperfréquences relais divers

 


La préaccentuation en télévision amateur

 

Lorsqu'on transmet des signaux de télévision en modulation de fréquence, il est nécessaire, avant d'attaquer le modulateur proprement dit, d'effectuer une petite opération que l'on appelle la préaccentuation.

Qu'est ce que la préaccentuation ?

La préaccentuation consiste à favoriser dans le canal radio les fréquences de modulation élevées, par rapport aux fréquences basses. L'opération exactement inverse - la désaccentuation - est réalisée à la réception. La préaccentuation permet de minimiser les défauts visibles lorsque le signal est reçu bruité. La courbe de préaccentuation utilisée en télévision a fait l'objet de longues études, puis d'une normalisation, car il est nécessaire que les fabricants d'émetteurs et de récepteurs utilisent des courbes exactement inverses.

Comment préaccentuer le signal ?

C'est très simple. La recommandation CCIR 405-1 définit un quadripôle à insérer dans le parcours du signal vidéo, avant d'attaquer le modulateur de fréquence. Il doit être attaqué par une impédance de 75 ohms, et sa sortie doit "voir" une impédance de 75 ohms. Pour les standards 625 lignes, le quadripôle est le suivant :

préac.gif (4231 octets)

Quelle est la courbe de réponse d'un tel quadripôle ?

En fait, la question peut paraître académique et la réponse est donnée dans les attendus de la norme. Néanmoins, il peut être intéressant d'analyser ce circuit pour apprécier les conséquences d'un changement de valeur de certains composants. Tout le monde n'a pas d'inductance de 9,54 µH dans ses tiroirs, ni même de condensateur de 1695 pF. Que se passe-t-il si on utilise des composants standards, condensateur de 1800 pF, inductance de 10 µH, résistance de 18 ohms, par exemple, en admettant que ceux-ci n'ont pas de tolérance ?

La simulation peut se réaliser très simplement au moyen d'un logiciel Spice. Il en existe de nombreuses versions gratuites ou commerciales.
Pour un usage amateur, on pourra télécharger le logiciel gratuit Spice Opus sur http://fides.fe.uni-lj.si/spice/, puis un petit document explicatif de 5 pages sur http://fides.fe.uni-lj.si/spice/getstarted/getstarted.html. Au bout d'une heure de tâtonnements, on en sait assez pour se lancer dans la modélisation de notre quadripôle:

La "netlist" peut s'écrire :

Préaccentuation CCIR 405-1
* preac.cir file
* input node 1
* output node 4
* voltage resources
v1 1 0 dc 0V ac 1 sin 0 2V 20megHz
* resistors
ri 1 2 75
r1 2 3 75
r2 3 4 75
r3 3 5 18.75
r4 2 4 300
ro 4 0 75
* capacitor
c1 2 4 1695pF
* inductance
l1 5 0 9.54uH
.end

En faisant tourner Spice Opus, on obtient la courbe de réponse suivante:


L'affaiblissement apporté aux fréquences basses est de 14 dB, alors que l'affaiblissement apporté aux fréquences hautes est nul. La pente de la courbe est importante entre 100 kHz et 3 MHz. On pourra s'amuser à faire l'exercice pour un quadripôle réalisé avec des composants standard: pas d'angoisse, les niveaux ne varient pas de plus d'un demi dB. On pourra également observer la variation de phase et de temps de propagation de groupe .....

 

 

73 de Jean-François FOURCADIER, F4DAY

 

 

retour à la page d'accueil du site

 

 

 

© 2000-2016  J.F. Fourcadier F4DAY